Tags

, , ,

I’m afraid of almost everything, but fear won’t be the thing that turns me around. If I go down, it will not be because I was too afraid to try. I won’t disappoint myself like that.

When I’m really stuck, I reflect on the things that I’ve been able to accomplish alreayd. The small victories tell me that I can. I can keep going, putting one foot in front of the other, even when my feet are paralyzed and I have to lift my legs up to make them move. Stopping is not an option, I won’t disappoint myself like that.

I think about the time I took myself half way around the world to a country where I barely spoke the language on four weeks notice for three months.

I only need to be courageous enough to get on the plane and fasten my seat belt. Once the doors close, there’s no turning back. I have the tools I need to succeed. I can adapt. I will be okay. I won’t disappoint myself like that.

Once the plan is set in motion, I will follow through. It’s that kick start, the getting on the plane that’s so hard. But I can do it, even when I’m not sure in my mind, my heart knows that I can.

I won’t disappoint my family.

I won’t disappoint my community.

I won’t disappoint myself like that.

